top of page

A little bit about Brittany

Updated: Dec 7, 2021







We’ve recently placed a couple of posts on Instagram to answer questions about what we did before going sailing, that led to more detailed posts here on Patreon just so you could get to know us better. We did one about Jeremiah, this one is about me!


I’m originally Canadian. While I was born in Canada (spent the first part of my life in Ontario), I moved to Florida with my Mother after my parents split. We started a new life around Tampa, I was homeschooled for the rest of grade school and then began at 18 working three separate bartending jobs and attending college full-time. I did it all myself…Housing, paying for school, my car, etc…I was proud to do it.


My life was turned upside down when I met Jeremiah. We met while I was on a girls weekend in Key West, I returned to Tampa feeling like something was missing. I had a couple of boyfriends in my late teens and early twenties but nothing too serious. I met Jeremiah and that changed instantly! We met in the end of September, I flew to California to visit him in the beginning of November, then I moved to California to live with him in early January and have been with him since. It was fast!


I went from living on my own, working three jobs and attending college to not working or going to school…AND I was now living in a household of 6. Jeremiah had 4 children from a previous marriage, this was very new to me. Jeremiah and I discussed the logistics of it all and I decided to offer to stay home with Trevor, Jeremiah’s son (4 years old at the time), while Jeremiah was at work. At the time, we were paying for 100% of Trevors daycare while he was at work, times were tough. The amount he had to pay for care was more than I would’ve brought in by working. So, for the first time, I was in a family and the family was coming first. I didn’t mind though, I really felt at home and was so happy to be a part of the family. We were starting to build a new foundation together, I liked that.


Over time things got easier. Jeremiah and I got married, Trevor became old enough to start school, that allowed me to get time during the day while Jeremiah worked. So I enrolled in college again and went at it full speed! I continued on with school and caring for the kids for years, over many deployments, etc. I was able to build a very special relationship with Jeremiah’s children over this time, it was so amazing to be a part it it all!


Jeremiah received orders to Virginia in 2013, we all drove across the country together to move into a brand new house! It was during this time in Virginia that I was able to finish up my college education with a degree in business and I started a small business of my own. Not to mention we got pregnant (after a year of trying) and Rhys came along! This time was also when we started to plan for our sailing future….That’s where my love for cooking came in!


I had always enjoyed cooking but by cutting spending (to save for the boat), I started to figure out ways to make food instead of buy it…Such as baking bread, noodles, homemade pizzas, etc…It was so much fun! Not only that, it was a great way to spend time together as a family. Friday nights were usually filled with everyone in the kitchen cooking together and then enjoying what we had all cooked! We really simplified our lives, when I look back I feel like it was some of the best times we’ve had. Plus we had developed some great skills as far as preparing meals.


Fast forward a few years (that you might have watched on YouTube) and here we are. I closed my small business once Jeremiah retired and we moved to Florida to find the first boat, I now run Lazy Gecko Sailing which is an LLC and all of the platforms associated. The kids are mostly grown now, our relationships have developed into a close sisterhood for the girls. I am so blessed to have been a part fo their lives, I don’t even want to think about what the past 12 or 13 years would have been like had I not made the leap and went for it when I met Jeremiah.


When I look back, I reflect on many people advising me not to move to California to be with an older man that has children. I know that it’s not always the case, but for me, it was probably the best decision that I’ve ever made.


Photos:

1. Jeremiah and I on the night we met.

2. My Husband!

3. Me with Jeremiah's children, Ashen, Meghan, Jessica and Trevor.

4. Us at the Annapolis Boat show previous to our sailing adventure!



2,627 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page